Carlos A. Angeles Biography and Literary Works (Poems)

- Carlos A. Angeles was a Filipino poet. He was born on May 25, 1921 in Tacloban City in the province of Leyte. He attained secondary education at Rizal High and graduated in 1938. He attended several universities - Ateneo de Manila, University of the Philippines, and Central Luzon Colleges. When he was studying in UP, he became an active member of the UP Writer's Club. His award-winning poetry collection, A Stun of Jewels, was published to great acclaim in 1963. Another collection, A Bruise of Ahses, was published by the Ateneo University Press in 1993.

- Angeles worked at the Philippine Bureau of International News Service from 1950 to 1958.

- Angeles was a recipient of the Carlos Palanca Memorial Awards for Literature in the Poetry category in 1964. This was the year that poetry was added to the list of categories. Angeles won the award for A Stun of Jewels, a collection of 47 poems. These were poems he wrote and dedicated to his wife Concepcion Reynoso. The collection also won the Republic Cultural Heritage Award for Literature.

1. Gabu
2. Dusk
3. Landscape II
4. Badoc
5. Family Reunion
6. The Wonderful Machine
7. From the Rooftop
A Bruise of Ashes: Collected Poems by Carlos A. Angeles.