Palanca Awards 2022 List of Winners

The Don Carlos Palanca Memorial Awards for Literature is the most influential awards program that recognizes writers in the Philippines. It's at the top when it comes to prestige. It's basically the Philippine version of the Pulitzer Prize. Writers who snag a Palanca award usually experience a boost in their writing career and an improved status within the Philippine literary community. The awards program was established in 1950 in memory of Don Carlos Palanca, a prominent businessman and philanthropist. Palanca died on September 2, 1950.

The 70th CPMA ceremony will be held at 6:00 o’clock on the evening of November 25, 2022. Venue will be at the CP Excelsior Executive Lounge in Legaspi Village, Makati.

Below is the Palanca Awards 2022 list of winners. We will be updating this list as more winners are announced:

I. Short Story - 
1st Prize - "Ceferina in Apartment 2G" by Ian Rosales Casocot
2nd Prize - "Ardor" by Exie Abola
3rd Prize - "The Money Changer" by Hammed Bolotaolo

II. Short Story for Children -
1st Prize - No Winner
2nd Prize - "Cloud Keeper" by Elyrah L. Salanga-Torralba
3rd Prize -"My Grandma Who Lives in Half a House" by Heather Ann Ferrer Pulido
III. Essay -
1st Prize - "Letter from Tawi-Tawi" by Alfonso Tomas P. Araullo
2nd Prize - "Filipino Millennial Monomyth" by Michaela Sarah De Leon
3rd Prize - "The Helmsman's Daughter" by Alexandra Francesca A. Bichara
IV. Poetry -
1st Prize - "Bol-anon Prodigal" by Ramil Digal Gulle
2nd Prize - "A Few Dawns from Now, a Sunfish" by  Soleil David
3rd Prize - "The Blueline" by Lawrence Anthony R. Bernabe
V. Poetry Written for Children -
1st Prize - "An Empty Chair in the Corner" by Elyrah L. Salanga-Torralba
2nd Prize - "Picnic, Symphony and Other Concepts a 4th Grader Needs to Know" by Peter Solis Nery
3rd Prize - No Winner 
VI. One-act Play -
1st Prize - "The Cave Dwellers" by Ronald S. Covar
2nd Prize - "Salvaged Eman" by Bonifacio P. Ilagan
3rd Prize - "Agencia Feliz" by Maria Kristine B. Roxas-Miller
VII. Full-Length Play -
1st Prize - "Orgullo Compound" by Layeta P. Bucoy
2nd Prize - "Black Bordello" by Jay Mariano Crisostomo IV
3rd Prize - "The Lost Filipino Patriots of America" by Dustin Edward D. Celestino 
3rd Prize - "The Lost Filipino Patriots of America" by Dustin Edward D. Celestino
VIII. Maikling Kuwento -
1st Prize - "Ang Value ng X Kapag Choppy Si Mam" by Charmaine M. Lasar
2nd Prize - "Barangay Alitaptap" by Abby Pariente
3rd Prize - "Kung sa Bawat Pagtawag ay Pagtawid sa Dagat" by Alec Joshua B. Paradeza
IX. Maikling Kuwentong Pambata -
1st Prize - "Si Veraptori Laban Kay Trolakuz" by Mark Norman S. Boquiren
2nd Prize - "Balong Batsit, ang Bidang Bulilit at Bayaning Bulinggit" by Wilfredo Farrales Sarangaya
3rd Prize - "Marisol Para Kay Lola Sol" by Benedick N. Damaso
X. Sanaysay -
1st Prize - "Kung Magkapalad Ka't Mangmang" by Venice Kayla Dacanay Delica
2md Prize - "Tatlong Pancit Canton" by Jhon Lester P. Sandigan
3rd Prize - "Isang Dekadang Kontrata sa Piling ng mga Mikrobyo" by Nathaniel R. Alcantara

XI. Tula -
1st Prize - "Uyayi ng mga Patay na Buwan" by Ralph Lorenz G. Fonte
2nd Prize - "Pintula" by Enrique S. Villasis
3rd Prize - "Mga Anino sa Guhoat Iba Pang mga Tula" by Sonny C. Sendon

XII. Tula Para sa mga Bata -
1st Prize - "Tula, Tula, Paano ka Ginawa" by Christian R. Vallez
2nd Prize - "Ale Bangbang" by Rebecca T. Anonuevo
3rd Prize - "Mga Pahina sa Alaala ng Nanay" by Ninia H. dela Cruz

XIII. Dulang May Isang Yugto -
1st Prize - "Punks Not Dead" by Andrew Bonifacio L. Clete
2nd Prize - "Dance of the Foolies" by Layeta P. Bucoy
3rd Prize - "Huling Haraya Nina Ischia at Emeteria" by Ryan Machado
XIV. Dulang Ganap ang Haba -
1st Prize - "Mga Silid ng Unos: Tomo Uno" by Joshua Lim So
2nd Prize - "Anak Datu" by Rodolfo C. Vera
3rd Prize - "Badung" by Steven Prince C. Fernandez 
XV. Dulang Pampelikula -
1st prize - "Amoy Pulbos" by Avelino Mark C. Balmes Jr.
2nd Prize - "DOS" by Noreen Besmar Capili
3rd prize - "Ang Pananalangin sa Getsemani" by Ehdison M. Dimen 
XVI. Short Story (Cebuano) -
1st Prize - "Barang" by Noel P. Tuazon
2nd Prize - "Ikigai" by Manu Avenido
3rd Prize - "John Wayne ug ang Goldfish kong Inahan" by Januar E. Yap
XVII. Short Story (Hiligaynon) -
1st Prize - "Ang Macatol Kag Ang 'Queen of Relief'" by Peter Solis Nery
2nd Prize - "Malipayun nga Katapusan" by Early Sol A. Gadong
3rd Prize -"Esperanza" by Ritchie D. Pagunsan
XVIII. Short Story (Ilokano) -
1st Prize - "Ti Kimat Ken Ti Silag" by Oswald Ancheta Valente
2nd Prize - "Ti Ubing" by Remedios S. Tabelisma-Aguillon
3rd Prize - "Karton" by Rodolfo Agatep Jr.
XIX. Kabataan Essay (Theme: “Life in the Midst of the Pandemic and Coping in the New Normal”) -
1st Prize - "Home is a Bowl of Warm Soup" by Glorious Savannah Exylin C. Alesna
2nd Prize - "Covid-19 is My Alter Ego" by Jenine A. Santos
3rd Prize - "The Social Pandemic" by Gavin Micah T. Herrera

XX. Kabataan Sanaysay (Theme: “Buhay sa Gitna ng Pandemya at Pagharap sa ‘New Normal’”) -
1st Prize - "Pamimintana" by Glorious Savannah Exylin C. Alesna
2nd Prize - "Ang Larong Naipanalo Ko" by Hansly Kendrich Cheng Saw
3rd Prize - "Mga Bantas ang Nagsilbi Kong Guro" by John Clarence D. Espedido

XXI. Novel
Grand Prize - "Bittersweetland" by Raymundo T. Pandan Jr.
Special Prize - "1762" by Alvin Dela Serna Lopez

XXII. Nobela
Grand Prize (Pangunahing Gantimpala) - "ANTIMARCOS" by Khavn
Special Prize (Natatanging Gantimpala) - "Teorya ng Unang Panahon" by Edgar Calabia Samar

NOTE: For those who want to help us in updating this list, kindly send us an email at or message us on our Facebook page: The Filipino Writer